Review: Pain de Sucre

Pain de Sucre Lemon Pie

It doesn’t take much to convince me to dive into something sweet. No one has to twist my arm to order (more) dessert after dinner, and there’s always room for another bag of Haribo in my bag after a trip through Duty Free. Since I can remember, my palate has been fine-tuned to favor a decadent chocolate mousse or a brownie sundae piled high with whipped cream. When I moved to Buenos Aires however, I had no idea what I was in for. Dulce de leche on top of dulce de leche, crema pastelera out the wazoo, kilo after kilo of creamy helado in every flavor imaginable. The saccharine overload was almost enough to turn me into a savory-only girl.

As the years have worn on, I’ve grown to become a little more discerning when it comes to the sweets I shovel into my mouth (I know, it’s like I don’t even recognize myself). Knowing that we’re spoiled for choice here just means that the work of diving deep and uncovering the good stuff is only more pressing (at least that’s what I tell myself as I’m eating my fourth serving of ice cream from Occo).

Pain de Sucre Buenos Aires

When I found out about the magic happening behind the ovens at Pain de Sucre, my taste buds perked up and I was eager to know more, aka dive in to a massive dessert-for-one. Based in San Miguel and operating out of Palermo, the company came to be in 2010 at the hand of a family that’s got gastronomy running through its veins. Homemade flavors are blended with high-quality presentation and preparation, which basically means it tastes like those delicious pies your aunt used to make, only way better.

The hardest part was deciding which treat I wanted. I figured I would use the opportunity to try something out of my usual repertoire since I usually go for chocolate and brownie-ish stuff. So, Lemon Pie it was. Full disclosure: I wasn’t sure I’d made the right decision, since most versions I’d had in the past were too artificial tasting, with an almost neon color for the filling, and overall too sweet to stomach.

However, upon arrival to my house, the pie looked like it had descended from heaven and been placed inside a little cardboard delivery box. It looked so fabulous I had to hold off until a “reasonable hour” (subtext: after I finished breakfast) to roll up my sleeves and go to town.

Let’s just cut to the chase. The Lemon Pie was the best I’ve ever had, and was enough to convince me to rethink my quasi-ban on citric desserts. It was so good, that I was literally too ecstatic in my feast to remember to photograph the ensuing feast. For real. The filling was fresh, loaded with natural lemon flavor, and the base was buttery without being too heavy or greasy. Don’t even get me started on the insane merengue topping, which I may or may not have eaten by itself when I needed a little pick-me-up.

And because I’m such a nice person, I even shared the wealth with my coworkers (much to the dismay of Josey, who was convinced he’d be “stuck” eating the leftovers all by himself).

What’s cool is that Pain de Sucre makes a ton of other baked goods, from cakes and pies, to petit fours, cupcakes, and more.

So if you’re entertaining for a crowd that can’t seem to agree on anything, a selection of mini Rogel and coconut bars would be a nice compromise. Stuck looking for the perfect finish to your mom’s birthday luncheon? Load up on a classic Tiramisú or Bavarois de Dulce de Leche (with almond praline base and topped with dark chocolate). Bonus track: They provide catering for social or business events, so if you need to nosh on something savory, they’ve got you covered.

Bottom line: What are you waiting for? Steal the sugary spotlight at your next juntada or cumpleaños de oficina (or just #TreatYoSelf) by rolling up with something sweet from Pain de Sucre.

Pain de Sucre
Tel: 4451-6890
Email: contacto@paindesucre.com.ar
Or contact them through their website.

Leave a Reply

