Back to Reality

Well, I’m back on this side of the Río de la Plata after a great long weekend in Punta del Este. I didn’t make it out once at all last year, so it felt good to see the waves and feel the fresh air on my face. It was also great/disgusting to eat and drink so much that I almost checked myself in to detox once I got off the ferry. Yikes. Expect lots of photos and reviews up by the weekend.

In any case, since we’re all starting the workweek on a Wednesday (am I the only one who feels a little out of whack?), let’s check out The Top 50 Restaurants in the World – which were announced just a few days ago. Noma in Copenhagen stays at #1, and of course Arzark and Mugaritz and Per Se are all up in there, but Dinner by Heston Blumenthal and Eleven Madison Park are totally new entries or have leaped up the list since last year, respectively. Surprisingly (or not), Lima’s Astrid & Gastón is on the list – though its local Buenos Aires counterpart failed to make an appearance.

There are in fact zero Argentine restaurants on this Top 50 list of all lists, which perhaps isn’t much of a surprise (let’s hope that changes at some point though).

So much for my detox. Now I’m starving and adding names to my restaurant bucket list. Where would you want to go first?

Photo Credit: Noma from The World’s 50 Best

Leave a Reply

