Who’s Hungry?

Hold on to your hats, gente.

Three years and millions of meals later, I’m still in Buenos Aires. I’m still eating my face off, and I’m still on the lookout for truly excellent food. Sure, I’ve suffered through cream cheese sushi and “lo mein” with Parmesan sprinkled on top. I’ve also had some pretty incredible food experiences here as well. Never mind that I have to smuggle things like Indian spices and Ghirardelli brownie mix into my suitcase from time to time; this blog will be about the joys (and the occasional pitfalls) of the BA food scene.

While our Porteño counterparts seem to be just a wee bit behind the curve – sushi is still “trendy” as opposed to being a given, like it is back home – I have to say that I am impressed with what’s been brewing for the past few years. Closed Door restaurants, new and complex flavors, branching out to new barrios, it’s all quite inspiring, even for a cynic like me.

Leave a Reply

